# Administrative-territorial units of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Date of release: 19.02.2024 Next date of release: 19.08.2024

## 1. KEY POINTS

- 2. Administrative-territorial units of the Republic of Kazakhstan
- 2.1 Administrative-territorial units of the Abay region
- 2.3 Administrative-territorial units of the Aktobe region
- 2.4 Administrative-territorial units of the Almaty region
- 2.5 Administrative-territorial units of Atyrau region
- 2.6 Administrative-territorial units of the Batys Kazakhstan region
- 2.7 Administrative-territorial units of the Zhambyl region
- 2.8 Administrative-territorial units of the Zhetysu region
- 2.9 Administrative-territorial units of the Karaganda region
- 2.10 Administrative-territorial units of Kostanay region
- 2.11 Administrative-territorial units of the Kyzylorda region
- 2.12 Administrative-territorial units of the Mangystau region
- 2.13 Administrative-territorial units of Pavlodar region
- 2.14 Administrative-territorial units of the Soltustik Kazakhstan region
- 2.15 Administrative-territorial units of the Turkistan region
- 2.16 Administrative-territorial units of the Ulytau region
- 2.17 Administrative-territorial units of the Shygys Kazakhstan region
- 2.18 Administrative-territorial units of the city akimat of Astana
- 2.19 Administrative-territorial units of the city akimat of Almaty
- 2.20 Administrative-territorial units of the city akimat of Shymkent

### 3. GLOSSARY

4. USEFUL LINKS

### 1. KEY POINTS

In the Republic of Kazakhstan, as of January 1, 2024, the number of regions is 17, districts - 188, cities - 89, including republican significance - 3, township - 29, rural areas - 2 169, villages - 6 256.

The largest number of districts in the republic is in the Akmola region, and the cities of regional significance and village administrations of akims - in the Karaganda region. In Akmola and Kostanai regions, there are more rural administrations of akims, and the largest number of rural settlements is in the Turkestan region.

## 2. Administrative-territorial units of the Republic of Kazakhstan, as of January 1, 2024

	Districts			Settlements				Office of the Akim					
		of them: districts in cities		cities					township		area		
					of them:					ıg		g	
	total	republican significance	regional significance	total	regional significance	district significance	township	villages	total	of them: consisting of only one IS*	total	of them: consisting of only one IS*	rural
Republic of Kazakhstan	188	18	4	89	38	48	29	6256	27	19	2169	498	97
Abay	8	-	-	4	2	2	2	327	2	2	134	38	-
Akmola	17	-	-	11	3	8	5	589	5	4	192	19	33
Aktobe	14	-	2	8	1	7		315	-	-	133	30	1
Almaty	9	-	-	4	1	3	-	380	-	-	133	33	-
Atyrau	7	-	-	2	1	1	-	153	-	-	67	23	-
Batys Kazakhstan	12	-	-	2	1	1	3	413	3	-	147	25	-
Zhambyl	10	-	-	4	1	3	-	367	-	-	150	38	3
Zhetysu	8	-	-	6	2	4	-	352	-	-	113	15	-
Karaganda	9	-	2	8	6	2	8	342	7	7	151	54	5
Kostanay	16	-	-	6	4	2	3	492	3	2	156	27	36
Kyzylorda	7	-	-	4	2	2	2	230	2	-	142	95	-
Mangystau	5	-	-	3	2	1	-	59	-	-	34	24	12
Pavlodar	10	-	-	3	3	-	3	352	3	3	119	14	4
Soltustik Kazakhstan	13	-	-	5	1	4	-	635	-	-	186	20	-
Turkistan	14	-	-	7	3	4	-	822	-	-	174	21	3
Ulytau	2	-	-	3	3	-	2	72	2	1	33	11	-
Shygys Kazakhstan	9	-	-	6	2	4	1	356	-	-	105	11	-
Astana city	5	5	-	1	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
Almaty city	8	8	-	1	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-
Shymkent city	5	5	-	1	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-	-

#### 3. GLOSSARY

The territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan is divided into two main categories - regions and settlements.

**A region** - a part of the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan, including several settlements, formed and managed in the interests of the Republic of Kazakhstan. The regions are the region, district, rural district as the main links of the republican administrative-territorial structure.

**Settlement** - a part of the densely populated territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan, formed as a result of economic and other social activities of citizens, with a population of at least 50 people, recorded and registered in the manner prescribed by the laws of the Republic of Kazakhstan and managed by local representative and executive bodies. Settlements are divided into urban and rural.

Urban settlements - cities of republican, regional and district significance, settlements.

Rural settlements - all other settlements, regardless of their administrative subordination.

**Cities of republican significance** - settlements of special national importance or population of more than one million people.

**Cities of regional significance** - settlements that are large economic and cultural centers with a developed industrial and social infrastructure and a population of more than 50 thousand people.

Cities of district significance - settlements on the territory of which there are industrial enterprises, public utilities, state housing stock, a developed network of educational and healthcare organizations, cultural, educational and commercial facilities, with a population of at least 10 thousand people.

**District in the city** - a district in a city of regional significance, a city of republican significance, a capital with a population of over 400 thousand people.

**Settlement** - settlements with a population of at least 3 thousand people. Settlements are also equated with settlements located in areas of medical importance, with a population of at least 2 thousand people, of which the number of people who come annually for treatment and recreation is at least half. They also include holiday villages, which are places of summer recreation for citizens, in which at least 25 percent of the adult population is constantly engaged in agriculture.

**Villages -** Settlements with a population of at least 50 people.

### 4. USEFUL LINKS

- 1. NK RK 11-2021 Classifier of administrative-territorial objects (CATO)
- 2. Law «On the administrative-territorial structure of the Republic of Kazakhstan»

№ 1-21/1342 February 19, 2024

Responsible for the release:	Department Director:	Executor:	Address:		
Department of Statistical Registers and Classifications	E. Bekberdiev	A. Umirbaeva	010000, Astana		
	Tel. +7 7172 749543	Tel. +7 7172 749798	Mangilik el avenue, 8		
		E-mail: ak.umirbaeva@aspire.gov.kz	House of Ministries, entrance 4		